Products

Yolk Cloth reusable face cloth

cloth1-1000x1500
Picture credit: SassyChic (link below)

A few months ago I was gifted a Yolk Cloth. I’m very much about beauty routines that are quick, easy and efficient. I’m a very slow-moving person in the mornings, so I like things that don’t take too much time, or brain power. I used to have a full spread of skin care products: face wash, cleanser, toner, makeup remover, moisturiser. I know there are plenty of other things I could own too, but five unique products is about as much as I can handle.

Since getting a Yolk Cloth, I now own a half-full  bottle of toner and a half-full bottle of makeup remover, both of which have been half full for months. I haven’t used a cleanser in forever. My morning routine now looks like this:

  1. Face wash
  2.  Rinse
  3. Moisturise

Actually, I don’t think I even need the face wash, but I like the extra oil control.

The manufacturers facts:

  • Yolk Cloths are made from 100% polyester.
  • The fibres are soft and gentle and suitable for sensitive skin,
  • The cloth is lightly exfoliating, making your over-all skin condition smoother and more even.
  • It maintains your skin’s pH balance because you don’t need to use as many (or any) products.
  • It only requires a small amount of water
  • It assists with acne control and blackhead clearing
  • It removes makeup, even waterproof
  • It is machine washable
  • Proudly South African

The good:

  • The yolk cloth is super water efficient. My boyfriend and I are both able to wash our faces in just a few centimetres of water
  • It removes makeup very well and is gentle enough to use around my eyes
  • It maintains its softness even after going through the washing machine
  • It leaves my skin feeling smooth and soft
  • It has allowed me to stop using single-use cotton pads for cleansing
  • It comes with a plastic storage bag so I can pack and transport it even when it is damp

The not-so-good:

  • I still struggle with break-outs, minor acne and blackheads.

Over-all opinion:

As a face cloth, the Yolk cloth is great. It has three strong pluses: reduced water usage, effective makeup removal, and the fact that it has replaced single-use cotton pads. However, I don’t feel that it has reduced my acne, so that’s a big negative.

If you are looking for a good multi-purpose cleansing cloth, the Yolk Cloth is a great option, but, like most things in life, it isn’t a magic cure for skin problems. Overall the positives outweigh the negatives, so I would give it a green-light, but a realistic green light.

Where is it available?

As far as I know, the cloths are only available online, and from some private sellers. If you know of any shops that stock them, please post it in the comments below. I have found two sites that sell them:

SassyChic:  R150, available in black and grey

Wellness Warehouse: R99.95, available in black and grey

 

Leave a comment